Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 Margaret Feilman Medal

Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 Margaret Feilman Medal

Council & Volunteers General

The recipients for this year’s Margaret Feilman Medal were announced last night at the National Trust’s Annual General Meeting, in front of our members.

We congratulate Mr Vince Taylor and Mr Ron Bodycoat AM and thank them for their enormous contributions to the protection of and access to Western Australia’s heritage.

The Margaret Feilman Medal is named after Margaret Feilman OBE, a founding member of the National Trust of Western Australia. Learn more about Margaret Feilman

Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination, we look forward to running this program again in 2024.

Mr Vince Taylor

Vince has been a dedicated member of the National Trust of Western Australia for over two decades, during which he has exhibited unwavering commitment, tireless effort, and made an exceptional contribution to the conservation and interpretation of our heritage.

Vince’s journey with the National Trust began as a volunteer at Woodbridge and Peninsula Farm, where he displayed a passion for heritage conservation that was nothing short of remarkable. In 2009, he took on the role of Honorary Warden at Old Blythewood in Pinjarra, a position he had held with grace and distinction for over 14 years.

In recognition of his outstanding service to the conservation of Western Australia’s unique heritage and his unwavering commitment to the National Trust of Western Australia, he is a worthy recipient of the Margaret Feilman Award. His contributions have not only enriched our organisation but have also left an indelible mark on the heritage landscape of Western Australia.

Mr Ron Bodycoat AM

Ron Bodycoat is rightly honoured as a Fellow of the National Trust of Western Australia in recognition of a lifetime career specialising in conservation and heritage assessment of the built environment.

Ron has practiced as a professional architect since registration in 1964. His work throughout Perth City remains visible to this day. His professional leadership has been widely acknowledged. He is a former state and national president of his professional institute culminating as a Life Fellow of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects. He became a Member of the Order of Australia in 1992 in recognition of his services to architecture, conservation, and heritage. For many years Ron was a member of council and vice president of the National Trust, chaired the Classification Standing Committee and was conservation architect for the East Perth Cemeteries. In these roles he mentored several generations of heritage professionals and volunteers. He provided professional input to heritage policy and architectural practice at state and national levels. Ron was recognised as an Honorary Life Member of the National Trust in 2007.

The National Trust of Western Australia celebrates Ron’s service and career to architecture and heritage through its highest honour, the Margaret Feilman Award.


Join the National Trust Community
Subscribe now
Follow Us On
Back to Top of the page.