List of classified places

List of classified places

The National Trust has been assessing and classifying places since the late 1960s and the List includes buildings, precincts, cemeteries, natural landscapes, geological monuments, historic sites, railway vehicles and other items for their heritage significance. There are currently over 1700 Classified items on the list and it is continually growing.

The National Trust’s ‘Classification Standing Committee’ (the CSC) works to identify and assess places and objects of cultural heritage significance. Members of the public may nominate places for assessment by the CSC. Places are considered Classified when approved by the Council of the National Trust on recommendation by the CSC and entered onto our List of Classified Places.

The National Trust’s List of Classified Places provides a record of places with heritage value in WA. Classification has no legal status and does not impinge on rights of ownership in any way nor does it imply a right of access by the public.

As a community-based heritage organisation the National Trust is unable to contribute funds to the conservation of Classified places. However, funds may be available from other bodies, such as Lotterywest. If your property is also recognized by the Local Government Authority or the Heritage Council’s State Register of Heritage Places, other financial and/or non-financial incentives may be available. Contact the Trust or your Local Government for further information.

To find out whether your property is included on the National Trust’s List of Classified Places, please contact our Heritage Services Department on (08) 9321 6088 or

  • Heritage Council of Western Australia

    The Heritage Council of Western Australia provides legal protection to places that have been assessed as being important to the State of Western Australia. The Heritage Council which is supported by the Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage does this by maintaining the State Register of Heritage Places established under the Heritage of Western Australia Act 1990. The register includes buildings, structures, gardens, cemeteries, landscapes, archaeological sites and more. If a place is included in the State Register of Heritage Places, any changes or works that may affect the significance of that place are required to be referred to the Heritage Council for advice.


  • Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage

    The Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage supports the Heritage Council including administrating Inherit, an online database of places which have been identified at local and state level for their heritage significance. Other information including whether a place has been Classified by the National Trust is also available.


  • Aboriginal Sites

    The Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage is also responsible for administering the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972. This Act automatically applies to places and objects which are important to Aboriginal culture in Western Australia. The department also maintains the Register of Aboriginal Sites. The Act makes it an offence to damage an Aboriginal place or object without approval whether it is on the register or not.


  • Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions

    The Department, ‘has a strong emphasis on improving Western Australia’s natural attractions as key tourism assets, and creating opportunities for private sector investment and partnerships while conserving environmental values. It consolidates conservation science to build and share knowledge of the State’s biodiversity.’

    The Department was formed in July 2017 and brings together the functions and staff of the Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority, Rottnest Island Authority, Zoological Parks Authority and the former Department of Parks and Wildlife.


  • Local Government Authorities

    Local governments are required to maintain a Local Heritage List (also known as Municipal Heritage Inventory). This identifies places of heritage significance within their local government boundary. Places added to the Local Heritage List are normally assigned a level or category of significance with those places at a higher level being subject to planning controls. For further information regarding local heritage listings and development controls; please contact your local government authority directly.

Join the National Trust Community
Subscribe now
Follow Us On
Back to Top of the page.